



1067

Five new species of the genus *Tetra* Keifer (Acari: Eriophyoidea) from China

XIAO-FENG XUE & XIAO-YUE HONG*

Department of Entomology, Nanjing Agricultural University, Nanjing, Jiangsu 210095, China (*Correspondent author: xyhong@njau.edu.cn)

Abstract

In this paper, five new species of the genus *Tetra* from China are described and illustrated. They are: *Tetra suspensae* n. sp. on *Forsythia suspensa* (Thunb.) Vahl; *Tetra lobatae* n. sp. on *Pueraria lobata* (Willd.) Ohwi; *Tetra japonicae* n. sp. on *Sophora japonica* L.; *Tetra formosae* n. sp. on *Lespedeza formosa* (Vog.) Koehne and *Tetra lycopersici* n. sp. on *Lycopersicon esculentum* Mill. A key to the species of *Tetra* from China is provided.

Key words: eriophyid mites, Eriophyidae, Phyllocoptinae, key, Henan and Jiangsu Provinces

Introduction

The genus *Tetra* was established by Keifer (1944) based on the type species *Phyllocoptruta concava* Keifer, 1939 and characterized as: body fusiform, often flattened; gnathosoma projecting obliquely down; prodorsal shield with frontal lobe, with scapular tubercles on rear margin, and prominent scapular setae, usually directed divergently posterior; opisthosoma with a wide middorsal longitudinal furrow and two lateral ridges; all coxal setae present; legs with usual series of setae. Up to now, the genus holds more than 87 species (Amrine *et al.*, 2003) from Asia, Europe and the Americas. To date, there are 17 species in China (Hong & Zhang, 1996; Lin *et al.*, 1997; Kuang & Zhang, 1999; Huang, 2001; Wei *et al.*, 2003; Huang & Wang, 2004; Wang & Lu, 2004). In 2004, a field investigation was conducted in China and five new species of *Tetra* were found in Henan and Jiangsu Provinces.

The morphological terminology used here follows Amrine *et al.* (2003). All measurements are in micrometres. The measurements of all the species described here are the means of the individuals studied for each species. All type specimens are deposited at the Department of Entomology, Nanjing Agricultural University, Jiangsu Province, China.