Skip to main content Skip to main navigation menu Skip to site footer

Chief Editor & Founder

Alain Dubois
Institut de Systématique, Évolution, Biodiversité (ISYEB), Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Sorbonne Université, École Pratique des Hautes Études, Université des Antilles, CNRS, 57 rue Cuvier, CP 30, F-75005 Paris, France
<adubois@mnhn.fr>

Deputy Editor

Alessandro Minelli 
Department of Biology, University of Padova, Via Ugo Bassi 58 B, 35131 Padova, Italy 
<alessandro.minelli@unipd.it>

Managing Editor

Zhi-Qiang Zhang 
New Zealand Arthropod Collection, Landcare Research, 231 Morrin Road, St. Johns, Auckland 1072, New Zealand 
<zhangz@landcareresearch.co.nz>

Members of the Editorial Board

Erna Aescht, Linz, Austria 
Biologiezentrum des Oberösterreichischen Landesmuseums, J.-W.-Klein-Str. 73, 4040 Linz, Austria
<ernaaescht@gmail.com>
  

Richard Bateman, Richmond, UK 
Jodrell Laboratory, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, Richmond, Surrey, TW9 3AB, UK
<R.Bateman@kew.org>

Aaron M. Bauer, Villanova, USA 
Department of Biology, Villanova University, 800 Lancaster, Avenue, Villanova, PA 19085, USA
<aaron.bauer@villanova.edu>

Brent Berlin, Athens, USA
Department of Anthropology, Franklin College of Arts & Sciences, 355 South Jackson Street, Baldwin Hall Room 250, University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602, USA
<obberlin@uga.edu>

Luis M. P. Ceríaco, Porto, Portugal
Museu de História Natural e da Ciência, Universidade do Porto, Praça de Gomes Teixeira, 4099-002 Porto, Portugal
<luisceriaco@gmail.com>

Frédéric Chérot, Gembloux, Belgium 
Service public de Wallonie, DGO3, Agriculture Ressources naturelles Environnement, Département de l’Etude du Milieu naturel et agricole, Direction de la Nature et de l’Eau, Avenue Maréchal Juin, 23, 5030 Gembloux, Belgium 
<frederic.cherot@spw.wallonie.be>

Alain Dubois, Paris, France
Reptiles & Amphibiens, Institut Systématique Évolution Biodiversité (ISYEB), Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, CNRS, Sorbonne Université, EPHE, 57 rue Cuvier, CP 30, 75005 Paris, France
<adbionomina@gmail.com>

François Dusoulier, Paris, France
Direction Générale des Collections, Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, 75005 Paris, France
<françoisdusoulier@mnhn.fr>

Mark Epstein, Ewing, USA 
486 Parkway Ave., Ewing NJ 08618, USA
<mwepstein@verizon.net>

Tariq Ezaz, Canberra, Australia 
Institute for Applied Ecology, University of Canberra, Canberra, ACT 2617, Australia
<Tariq.Ezaz@canberra.edu.au>

Philippe Grandcolas, Paris, France 
Institut Systématique Évolution Biodiversité (ISYEB), Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, CNRS, Sorbonne Université, EPHE, 57 rue Cuvier, CP 30, 75005 Paris, France
<pg@mnhn.fr>

Thierry Hoquet, Nanterre, France 
Département de Philosophie, Université Paris-Nanterre, 200 avenue de la République, 92001 Nanterre Cedex, France
<thierry.hoquet@hotmail.fr>

Michel Laurin, Paris, France 
CR2P, UMR 7207, Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, Bâtiment de Géologie, Case postale 48, 43 rue Buffon, F-75231 Paris Cedex 05, France
<michel.laurin@mnhn.fr>

Olivier Lorvelec, Rennes, France 
UMR ESE, INRA, Agrocampus Ouest, 65 rue de Saint-Brieuc, 35042 Rennes Cedex, France
<olivier.lorvelec@inrae.fr>

Antoine Louchart, Lyon, France 
Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, 15 parvis René Descartes, 69342 Lyon Cedex 07, France
<antoine.louchart@ens-lyon.fr>

Valéry Malécot, Angers, France 
Campus du Végétal, Centre INRA Angers-Nantes, 42 rue Georges Morel, 49071 Beaucouzé Cedex, France
<valery.malecot@agrocampus-ouest.fr>

Milen Marinov, Christchurch, New Zealand
Ministry for Primary Industries, Manatű Ahu Matua, 14 Sir William Pickering Drive, Burnside, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
<Milen.Marinov@mpi.govt.nz>

Alessandro Minelli, Padova, Italy 
Department of Biology, University of Padova, Via Ugo Bassi 58 B, 35131 Padova, Italy
<alessandro.minelli@unipd.it>

Ikuo Miura, Hiroshima, Japan 
Institute for Amphibian Biology, Hiroshima University, Higashi-Hiroshima 739-8526, Japan
<imiura@hiroshima-u.ac.jp>

Marcos Raposo, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 
Professor Associado, Museu Nacional, UFRJ, Quinta da Boa Vista, s/n, 20940-040 São Cristóvão, Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
<raposo@mn.ufrj.br>

Josef F. Schmidtler, München, Germany 
Oberföhringer Straße 35, 81925 München, Germany
<josef@schmidtler.eu>

Gerhard Scholtz, Berlin, Germany 
Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Intitut für Biolohie, Vergleichende Zoologie, Philippstr. 13, Haus 2, 10115 Berlin, Germany
<gerhard.scholtz@rz.hu-berlin.de>

Renata Stopiglia, São Paulo, Brazil 
Museu de História Natural do Ceará Prof. Dias da Rocha, Centro de Ciências da Saúde, Universidade Estadual do Ceará, Av. Dr. Silas Munguba, 1700, Campus Itaperi, 60741–000, Fortaleza, CE, Brazil
<rstopiglia@gmail.com>

Marc van Regenmortel, Strasbourg, France 
UMR 7242 Biotechnologie et Signalisation Cellulaire, Université de Strasbourg-CNRS, 300 Boulevard Sébastien Brant, 67412 Illkirch Cedex, France
<vanregen@esbs.u-strasbg.fr>

Lars Vogt, Bonn, Germany 
Institut für Evolutionsbiologie und Ökologie, Universität Bonn, An der Immenburg 1, 53121 Bonn, Germany
<lars.m.vogt@googlemail.com
> 

Mark Young, Edinburgh, United Kingdom 
School of GeoSciences, Grant Institute, The King’s Buildings, University of Edinburgh, James Hutton Road, Edinburgh, EH9 3FE, United Kingdom
<mark.young@ed.ac.uk>

 

Editors by main sections and subjects

(1) Nomenclature of taxa

Nomenclature: botany
Valéry Malécot

Nomenclature: cultivated plants
Valéry Malécot

Nomenclature: paleontology, paleobotany, paleozoology
Richard Bateman; Antoine Louchart; Valéry Malécot; Mark Young

Nomenclature: phylogenetic, Phylocode, other systems alternative to the current Codes
Michel Laurin

Nomenclature: theory
Alain Dubois; Alessandro Minelli

Nomenclature: viruses
Marc van Regenmortel

Nomenclature: zoology
Alain Dubois; Alessandro Minelli; Erna Aescht; Aaron M. Bauer; Luis Ceríaco; Frédéric Chérot; François Dusoulier; Olivier Lorvelec; Antoine Louchart; Milen Marinov; Marcos Raposo; Renata Stopiglia; Mark Young

 

(2) Terminology in other biological fields

Biogeography
Aaron M. Bauer; François Dusoulier; Philippe Grandcolas; Valéry Malécot

Cell biology, cytogenetics
Tariq Ezaz; Lucie Laplane; Marc van Regenmortel

Developmental biology
Alessandro Minelli; Ikuo Miura; Gerhard Scholtz

Ecology, ethology, conservation biology
Thierry Hoquet; Olivier Lorvelec

Ethnobiology, ethnobiological classification and nomenclature
Brent Berlin; Luis Ceríaco

Evolutionary biology
Alessandro Minelli; Richard Bateman; Tariq Ezaz; Philippe Grandcolas; Thierry Hoquet; Antoine Louchart; Ikuo Miura; Marcos Raposo; Gerhard Scholtz; Mark Young

Molecular biology, genetics, genomics
Tariq Ezaz; Ikuo Miura

Morphology
Alessandro Minelli; Aaron M. Bauer; Luis Ceríaco; Valéry Malécot; Gerhard Scholtz; Renata Stopiglia; Mark Young

Physiology, immunology, immunochemistry
Marc van Regenmortel

Virology
Marc van Regenmortel

 

(3) Conceptual, philosophical and historical issues

History and sociology of scientific language
Luis Ceríaco; Thierry Hoquet; Josef F. Schmidtler

Philosophy of (scientific) language
Mark Epstein; Thierry Hoquet

Phylogenetics
Richard Bateman

Scientific illustration
Aaron M. Bauer; Josef F. Schmidtler

Taxonomic concepts
Alain Dubois; Alessandro Minelli; Gustavo Caponi; Luis Ceríaco; Mark Epstein; Antoine Louchart; Marcos Raposo; Josef F. Schmidtler; Renata Stopiglia; Marc van Regenmortel

Theories and systems of terminology, standardisation, semantic transparency
Brent Berlin; Mark Epstein; Josef F. Schmidtler; Lars Vogt

Translation
Mark Epstein